My First KubeCon + CloudNativeCon North America 2022 Experience

My First KubeCon + CloudNativeCon North America 2022 Experience

ยท

5 min read

How did I come across KubeCon?

I'm a complete beginner in the cloud-native world. I came across this KubeCon North America ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Travel Scholarship Giveaway!โœˆ๏ธ + Introduction to CNCF + Getting Involved - with Priyanka Sharma Videos in my recommendations.

I'm very happy that day when I received Dan Kohn Student Scholarship in order to attend KubeCon + CloudNativeCon North America 2022 Virtually.

image.png image.png

I am Super excited to learn and collaborate with amazing international developers and become part of the Cloud Native Computing Foundation (CNCF) community!

So what's KubeCon?

KubeCon + CloudNativeCon is one of the biggest event which is organized by Linux Foundation. This year it was happened in Detroit.

In brief, it's the flagship conference of the Cloud Native Computing Foundation that brings together top engineers from prominent open source and cloud native communities like Red Hat, Cisco, Salesforce, Google Cloud etc ( PS: the list is huge ) in a unique setting to enhance cloud native computing education and advancement.They get together to talk about new ideas, learn more about them, build connections, and have fun. In just 4 days, there are a plethora of excellent speeches, events, gatherings, parties, and competitions, which can easily make a beginner fall in love with this amazing community.

PROGRAM CO-CHAIRS

image.png

SPONSORS

image.png

image.png

image.png

Where to start?

Personally I have attended this session virtually. I am very amazed to see that for every virtual event there is well organized session on a fabulous platform.

03.png

KubeConPlatfom.png

Honestly I didn't know how people were managing and how to attend the sessions and stuff. And However, I came up through Kunal Kushwaha, I came to know about how to move forward, and Sched was my saviour.


My Overall Experience

For the virtual attendee event was started on 26 Oct. It was started with Keynote session by Priyanka Sharma Executive Director of CNCF.

Opening was amazing ... you can see cool pic from opening ceremony

image.png

image.png

KubeCon Exp.png

After opening speech Heba Elayoty and Yuan Tang sit down with Priyanka Sharma to talk about why organizations need to support maintainers of open source projects.

Heba Elayoty is ideal women for everyone. She is working women as well as good parents. She is contributing and supporting opensource with a lots of responsibilities.

image.png

After amazing talk with Heba and Yuan, Taylor Dolezal is come on the stage who is the Head of Ecosystem ( Cloud Native Computing Foundation ).

he talks about some top end user contributors over the past year. After that Jonny Langefeld(Staff Software Engineer, Cruise) and Nitish Krishna(Senior Software Engineer, Cruise)talks about Kubernetes & Cruise.

image.png

image.png

Session : Armoring Cloud Native Workloads with LSM Superpowers

There is one amazing session which I attended on Armoring Cloud Native Workloads with LSM Superpowers by Barun Acharya Software Engineer (Accuknox)

I learned about

  • Cloud Native Workloads

image.png

  • Cloud Native Security

image.png

  • Container Security
  • Runtime Threats
  • How do we deal with vulnerabilities that manifest at Runtime?
  • Linux Security Modules

There is lots of amazing informative session happens like

  • Keynote: Beyond Automation: Kubernetes Success Requires a GitOps Mindset - Shatarupa Nandi, Senior Director of Engineering, VMware Tanzu
  • Keynote: Beyond Automation: Kubernetes Success Requires a GitOps Mindset - Shatarupa Nandi, Senior Director of Engineering, VMware Tanzu
  • Keynote: Fostering Kubernetes Community Growth Through Learning - Le Tran, Member of Technical Staff, Kasten by Veeam
  • Keynote: What We Learned Dissecting the Worldโ€™s Most Popular Containers Ayse Kaya, Head of Strategic Insights + Analytics, Slim.AI
  • Keynote: Closing Remarks - Ricardo Rocha, Computing Engineer, CERN; Emily Fox, Security Engineer, Apple; Frederick Kautz

If you all want to watch the KubeCon talks, it's available on Youtube.

What did I like the most?

Interactive Slack Channels

Honestly, when I first joined it I was hesitant in sending messages but then I realised I have come for networking right? And I introduced myself on the respective channels and to my surprise, there were newbies & many were attending for the first time too.

The slack channels were super-friendly and welcoming space. People from different tech domains and experiences were casually talking and geeking out together. If anyone had any questions, all were very prompt to respond to your queries (Ps: there are no dumb questions :)). All of them were helpful and supportive. I connected with a couple of folks on my Twitter handle and learnt about their experiences as well.

Practical Use cases

I liked this conference for the fact that everything had practical use. You could relate and even understand the use cases. How these tech/non-tech companies are actually using these technologies to solve worldwide problems

Technical Support

There was a moment when I was unable to login the live streams. I instantly wrote to the tech support, and they were super quick to respond. Within a couple of minutes, they gave me a solution & resolved the issue. I was hugely impressed by the event was managed. Everything was perfect.

Why I strongly recommend to attend cloud native events ?

  • Networking Opportunities
  • Amazing Giveaways
  • Lots of learning
  • Scholarships

At the end of the last day there is a keynote session : Closing Remarks - Ricardo Rocha, Computing Engineer, CERN; Emily Fox, Security Engineer, Apple; Frederick Kautz

They give little introduction about next events so don't forgot to attend .

  1. KubeCon + CloudNativeCon Europe 2023
  2. KubeCon + CloudNativeCon North America 2023

image.png

Conclusion

image.png

It was an amazing experience for me, and I'm glad that I attended it. But, in all honesty, even though this event was of Hybrid Model, but the actual fun to attend this event is in-person. And I'm hoping to attend this event in person this time :D, hope to see you all there.

I made new connections, learnt from people's experiences, and best practices and explored different tech stacks. I'm definitely carrying with me so many memories and knowledge. I would recommend people, to check out the events recordings on the CNCF to have a glimpse of KubeCon. Come out of your comfort zones & explore. This is the best you can do to give a new direction to your tech journey.

Thank You CNCF family and Community Classroom ! Special thanks to Kunal Kushwaha.

ย